How Much Insurance Coverage Do I Need In Illinois?
Illinois law requires all vehicle owners to carry minimum amounts of liability insurance. Under the state’s traditional fault-based system, the driver responsible for your car accident must pay for the damages you suffered. Their insurance company will cover your medical costs, lost wages and other damages.
By law, drivers must maintain the following:
• $20,000 in coverage for property damage per accident
• $25,000 in coverage for bodily injury or death per person
• $50,000 in total bodily injury coverage per accident
These insurance minimums are often inadequate for covering all the losses incurred due to a crash. An experienced car accident lawyer can help you pursue additional compensation through a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
Other Car Accident FAQs:
- Can I Recover Compensation For My Injuries If I Was Partially At Fault For Causing An Accident?
- Do I Need a Lawyer After a Hit and Run?
- How Long After A Car Accident Do Injuries Appear?
- How Much Insurance Coverage Do I Need In Illinois?
- How Much Time Do I have To File A Claim For My Car Accident?
- Should I Accept an Insurance Company’s Settlement Offer After a Car Accident?
- What Are The Most Important Steps To Take After A Car Accident?
- What Can I Get For My Neck Injury From My Car Accident?
- What Documents Do I Need To Show As Evidence?
- What Injuries Can A Car Accident Cause?
- What Options Do I Have After Being Injured In A Car Accident?
- What Should I Look For in a Car Accident Lawyer?
- What Should You Do After A Car Accident With An Injury?
- What Types Of Damages Can A Person Claim?
- When Do I Need An Attorney For Car Accident Injuries?
- Who Can Be Held Responsible For a Car Accident?